The Epicenter Musical Performance Organization

New Music Ensemble

Los Angeles, California


TEMPO (The Epicenter Musical Performance Organization), dedicated to the pursuit, performance, and perseverance of contemporary music, was formed in 2008 at California State University, Northridge by Daniel Kessner and Julia Heinen.

In Spring 2019, TEMPO was honored to receive 1st prize at the Doug Davis Performance Grant for their performance of Fred Lerdahl’s “Time After Time.”

The ensemble of flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano, and percussion consists of faculty, alumni, and friends,  all of whom share a passion for performing works from the 20th and 21st centuries.

In 2021-2022 TEMPO celebrates its 13th season of bringing contemporary music to the world.  In addition to programming established contemporary works,  it also hosts an annual “Call for Scores,” selecting several works to feature each season.


October 25th, 2020 


Virtual Live Concert!
Register Here

Program includes:

Douglas Davies
Idee Fixe for solo flute

Richard Derby
Social Distancing for solo violin

Viet Cuong
Zanelle for solo clarinet

Score Submission

TEMPO Ensemble

(The Epicenter Musical Performance Organization)

13th  Season 2021-2022

Call for Scores

TEMPO (The Epicenter Music Performance Organization), a septet consisting of flutes (all), clarinets (all), violin(s), viola(s), cello, percussion, and piano, invites scores with or without conductor, either for the entire ensemble or smaller groups within our instrumentation.
  • Notes: For the 2021-2022 season we are not considering working that include percussion. In addition, works that require other instruments can be considered but you should check with us first.
Works will be selected for our coming 13th Season in 2020-21 concert season at California State University, Northridge in addition to other venues.
Important Dates:
  • June 15 2021 – deadline for consideration.
  • August 1, 2021 – composers will be notified.
  • August 15, 2021 – parts, biographical and program notes of selected composers must be received. (we will let you know if electronic or hard copies are required)
Submission Fees:
  • First score submission – $40
  • Each additional score – $20

For multiple submissions, please submit a new form for each work.

Questions should be addressed to Julia Heinen, julia.heinen@csun.edu


Thanks to all the fantastic works we had submitted for 2020-21 season! 


TEMPO New Music Ensemble

California State University, Northridge

Department of Music

Attention: Julia Heinen

18111 Nordhoff Street

Northridge, CA 91330-8314

(818) 677-3168